A Readers’ Writer/A Writing Reader

“I swear I’m going upstairs to find some suitable sentences which I will be using from now on.” ~ Doris Lessing, on winning the Nobel Prize for Literature

lessing.jpg

Doris Lessing provides me hope: She never graduated from high school, but taught herself amazingly well by simply reading everything around her. I have always thought there should be some way in which my reading could morph into a sustaining career; Ms. Lessing points the way: write as much as you read.

And she has most certainly done that! I’m heading right over to Powell’s to buy a good chunk of her opus; I’ve been sick and am out of reading material.

What I also like about her is this:

1967 1973

1967                     1973

She goes from being timely to timeless. And always beautiful.

Published in: on October 11, 2007 at 11:37 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://educanation.wordpress.com/2007/10/11/a-readers-writera-writing-reader/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

